• Sustainability
  • DE&I
  • Pandemic
  • Finance
  • Legal
  • Technology
  • Regulatory
  • Global
  • Pricing
  • Strategy
  • R&D/Clinical Trials
  • Opinion
  • Executive Roundtable
  • Sales & Marketing
  • Executive Profiles
  • Leadership
  • Market Access
  • Patient Engagement
  • Supply Chain
  • Industry Trends

Pharmaceutical Executive Takes the Grand Neal


Pharmaceutical Executive

Pharmaceutical ExecutivePharmaceutical Executive-03-01-2002

Pharmaceutical Executive won the prestigious Grand Neal Award at the 48th annual Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards.To find out more, click here.

[MARCH 13, 2002 - NEW YORK]: Pharmaceutical Executive, published by Advanstar, Inc., Eugene, Ore., won the prestigious Grand Neal Award today at the 48th annual Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards. The magazine is a monthly publication designed to meet the diverse management and marketing needs of professionals in the pharmaceutical industry worldwide. Winners were announced before a crowd of more than 450 b-to-b leaders at The Waldorf=Astoria in New York.

Left to right: Gordon Hughes, President & CEO, American Business Media; Grand Neal winners-Joanna Breitstein, Associate Editor, Wayne Koberstein, Editor-in-Chief, Sibyl Shalo, Senior Editor, PharmaceuticalExecutive; and Marshall Loeb, (Neal Judging Chair), Columnist, CBS MarketWatch. Not pictured: Judith Sawyer, Managing Editor, L.J. Sellers, Senior Editor, Pharmaceutical Executive.

The Neal Awards are a celebration of a year in b-to-b editorial excellence and are presented annually to those editors who have exhibited journalistic enterprise, service to the field, and editorial craftsmanship. This day was also proclaimed American Business Media Day in New York City by Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg.

The winning entry, Pharmaceutical Executive's "Discovery," also won a Neal Award for best subject-related series of articles. Discovery examined the broad therapeutic area, assessed the science leading to new breakthroughs, and outlined the marketing challenges. It included interviews with actor and health activist Christopher Reeve, and Yankees manager Joe Torre and pitching coach Mel Stottlemyer, NBC Today Show co-host Katie Couric, and more.

American Business Media congratulates the following members of the winning team of Pharmaceutical Executive: Joanna Breitstein, Associate Editor; Andra Brichacek, Associate Editor; Wayne Koberstein, Editor-in-Chief; Barbara Mickelson, Art Director; Judith Sawyer, Managing Editor; L.J. Sellers, Senior Editor; and Sibyl Shalo, Senior Editor.

Editors from IDG, The McGraw-Hill Companies, Reed Business Information, Thomson Financial, and VNU Business Media were multiple Neal winners. Other winners included editors from ACC Communications, Inc., American Lawyer Media, Inc., Diversified Business Communications, Farm Journal Media, Lebhar-Friedman, Inc., Newport Communications Group, PBI Media, LLC, PennWell Corporation, Primedia Business Magazines & Media, and Ziff Davis Media, Inc.

Selecting this year's honorees was the distinguished Neal Board of Judges led by Marshall Loeb (Neal Judging Chair), Columnist, CBS MarketWatch; Don Christiansen, President, Informatica; Jill Dutt, Assistant Managing Editor for business news, The Washington Post; Diana Henriques, Financial Investigative Reporter, The New York Times; Frank Lalli, Publishing Consultant; Professor Abe Peck, Medill School of Journalism; and Professor Don Ranly, University of Missouri-Columbia.

Fire Engineering Magazine - Courage and Valor Foundation The Neal Awards were held the week the nation marked the six-month anniversary of the September 11 terrorist attacks. In remembrance of the firefighters who lost their lives, Robert F. Biolchini, President and CEO, PennWell Corporation, announced the creation of Fire Engineering magazine?s Courage and Valor Foundation. The first recipient will be awarded posthumously to former NYC Fire Department Deputy Chief Ray Downey, Jr., who lost his life trying to save others during the terrorists attacks in New York City. On hand for the tribute were Captain Joseph Downey, son of Ray Downey, Jr., and former NYC Fire Commissioner Thomas Von Essen.

Deputy Chief Downey joined Oklahoma City Governor Frank Keating on stage at the Neal Awards in 1996 to honor Fire Engineering magazine for its coverage of the Oklahoma City attack. During the event, Fire Engineering magazine won the first Grand Neal Award.

Each year the Foundation will make a cash award to a firefighter, or his family if he is deceased, who has demonstrated exemplary courage and valor in a rescue operation. The goal of the newly former independent, tax-free Foundation is to raise a $1 million endowment to exist and to be awarded annually in perpetuity. The award will be handed out in April at PennWell Corporation?s FDIC show in Indianapolis.

34th Annual Crain Award Rance Crain, President, Crain Communications, Inc., presented Lewis A. Miller, Editorial Director, Dowden Health Media, with the 34th annual Crain Award and a $1,000 honorarium. The Crain Award-in honor of G.D. Crain Jr., founder of Crain Communications, Inc.-is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the development of editorial excellence in the b-to-b press.

McAllister Editorial Fellowship Ellen M. Koteff, Executive Editor, Nation?s Restaurant News (Lebhar-Friedman, Inc.), received the 2002 McAllister Editorial Fellowship, which was presented by Donald McAllister, Jr., Former Chairman and Co-Owner, Geyer-McAllister Publications, and Liane McAllister, Former Senior Editor, Gifts & Decorative Accessories, and former co-owner of Geyer-McAllister Publications. The $25,000 award, which is administered through the Business Press Educational Foundation, promotes the study of writing for b-to-b publications and features tutorial visits by American Business Media Fellowship winners to the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University. Ms. Koteff, the eighth recipient of the fellowship, also received a crystal bowl and an honorarium. In addition, she was part of the winning Neal team on Nation?s Restaurant News, for best single issue of a newspaper/news tabloid.

Official Sponsor PARS International Corp., New York, NY, served as the official sponsor of the 48th annual Jesse H. Neal Awards.

About American Business Media Founded in 1907, American Business Media is the b-to-b industry association for global information providers that represent magazines, Web sites, trade shows, conferences, newsletters, and other media. These member companies reach an audience of more than 88.9 million professionals and generate more than $239 billion in industry revenues.

Related Videos